Welcome Writership Listeners

I’d like to take this opportunity to welcome listeners from the Writership Podcast. Leslie & Alyssa’s podcast has been of great help in my writing, but I don’t need to tell you that. You discovered me through them.

So instead of me telling you about the people who introduced me to you, I should tell you more about myself.

A little background. I’m a road construction supervisor living in northern Colorado. I’m a big reader; I won an award for it in middle school and was nominated again in high school. I’ve slacked off a bit this year because of my writing, but I generally read 30-50 books per year.

When I was 10, I decided I would be a writer and started writing short stories. Four years later, I started a novel which I then shelved until this year. At the time of this writing, I’m a few hundred words away from finishing the first draft of the story. That one is Once Upon a Saturn MoonOnce Upon a Saturn Moon is a sci-fi romantic thriller. It is a story of a NASA mission to Saturn’s Earth-like moon of Titan where they encounter an alien civilization embroiled in a civil war. I’m having a lot of fun writing it and hope you will have fun reading it when it comes out next year.  You can get updates by signing up for my newsletter in the link above.

Along the way, I decided to write a prequel. Despite being a prequel to a science fiction novel, The Fall of Saar wound up being more of a dark fantasy. It follows the villain of Once Upon a Saturn Moon in his rise to power and fall from morality as he is thwarted in love. The Fall of Saar is available for free on all major ebook retailer websites..

And of course, I’ve written the first episode of a fantasy serial, The Book of Fawla. This is a story of a woman who was transported through a book to a world of elves and discovers she has magical powers of plants. It was actually inspired by a writing prompt that Writership posted. Click on the link to read all current chapters of The Book of Fawla.

Going forward, I will be starting a another series next year. The Dragon Race Chronicles will follow an elven princess who finds herself bonded to a dragon hatchling, in the vein of McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern, Paolini’s Inheritance series, or Novik’s Temeraire. It will actually be set in the same world of The Book of Fawla and there will be crossover at some point..

There will also be a sequel to Once Upon a Moon next year as well as the continuation of The Book of  Fawla.

So, sit back and enjoy the writing. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

If you are one of my regular readers, then maybe I should explain the Writership Podcast. Writership is an editing company run by Leslie Watts and Alyssa Archer. Leslie is a total grammar nerd and we’ve been having a conversation recently parsing verb tenses. They take 5 page submissions of published and unpublished works and edit them on air.
Each episode starts with a quote before reading the submission and giving their critique and then Leslie gives an editorial mission where the listeners are given homework to find the major error of the submission in their own work. For writers, I definitely recommend subscribing and having them take a look at their work. You can find their podcast at Writership.org/podcast.

Tags: